MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING OF THE BEN HILL COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HELD ON <u>AUGUST 03, 2021 AT 6:00 PM</u> IN THE BEN HILL COUNTY COURTHOUSE ANNEX

Those present for the meeting were as follows:

Steve Taylor	Chairman
Hope Harmon	Vice-Chair
Bennie Calloway	Commissioner
Daniel Cowan	Commissioner
John Mooney	Commissioner
Michael Dinnerman	County Manager
Donna Prather	County Clerk

Call to Order

Chairman Steve Taylor called the meeting to order and gave the invocation.

Everyone gave the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of the Agenda/Agenda Changes

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Acceptance of Prior Minutes

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to approve the Regular Monthly Meeting that was held on July 6, 2021. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to approve the Workshop Meeting that was held on July 21, 2021. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to approve the Special Called Meeting that was held on July 29, 2021. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Constitutional Officer:

Tax Commissioner Barry Foster gave an update on all activity at the Tax Commissioner's Office.

Department Head Reports: NONE

<u>County Board Reports:</u> NONE <u>County Manager's Report:</u>

County Manager Michael Dinnerman reported:

- The Lower Rebecca Road unman dumpsite will be closing August 18th. Information is posted on the County Website and a sign is posted at the dumpsite.
- Cash position is strong. We are up 15% on SPLOST & LOST from this time last year.
- He has been communicating with Grady regarding EMS services.
- We have changed Agents for Liability Insurance to ACCG that includes a savings.
- We will continue Cyber Insurance with our current Agent.
- Mike announced this is his 4th Anniversary with the County.

Annexation Request: NONE

Rezoning Application: NONE

Alcohol Application: NONE

Appointments:

Executive Director, Melissa Dark, with the Fitzgerald Ben Hill County Chamber of Commerce, gave an update on all their up-and-coming events. She stated they are trying to get the Community involved with the Chamber.

Old Business: NONE

<u>New Business:</u>

Thank You Letter/Judge Chasteen

Chairman Steve Taylor shared a letter of gratitude for Judge Chasteen to First Baptist Church for making the use of Mann Hall available to the court system for June Term of Ben Hill Superior Court.

SW GA Region 8 EMS Council Nomination

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to appoint EMA Director Brandon Fletcher to the SW GA Region 8 EMS Council. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

RMS Operator Agreement/Amendment #1 FY22

Commissioner Daniel Cowan made a motion to approve the RMS Operator Agreement Amendment # 1 FY 22. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner Daniel Cowan, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner John Mooney, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Lorenzo's Custom Prints/RLF

Commissioner Daniel Cowan made a motion to approve Lorenzo's Custom Prints Revolving Loan Fund Loan in the amount of \$12,000 at 3.50% interest for 30 months contingent upon DCA approval. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner Daniel Cowan, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner John Mooney, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Surplus Property Resolution/Road Department

Vice-Chair Hope Harmon made a motion to adopt the Road Department Surplus Resolution. Commissioner Daniel Cowan seconded the motion; which passed with Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner John Mooney, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Authorizing Membership In The ACCG-IRMA Resolution

Vice-Chair Hope Harmon made a motion to adopt the Interlocal Risk Management Agency (IRMA) Resolution authorizing membership. Commissioner John Mooney seconded the motion; which passed with Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner John Mooney, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

IRMA Intergovernmental Agreement Contract

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to approve the contract and authorize the Chairman endorse all documents. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Agenda Changes and/or add on:

Vice-Chair Hope Harmon reported ACCG is hosting District meeting to discuss LOST Negotiations and Redistricting Meetings. Our district meeting is in September.

Legislative Report: NONE

Public Comments: NONE

Executive Session

Commissioner's Remarks:

Chairman Steve Taylor stated the ACCG Reconnect Conference in November has been postponed.

Vice-Chair Hope Harmon thanked everyone for supporting the backpack give.

Meeting adjourned

_____ Steve Taylor, Chairman

_ Donna R. Prather, County Clerk