MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL CALLED MEETING OF THE BEN HILL COUNTY COMMISSIONERS HELD ON JULY 27, 2023 AT 6:00 PM IN THE BEN HILL COUNTY COURTHOUSE ANNEX

Those present for the meeting were as follow:

Steve Taylor	Chairman
Hope Harmon	Vice-Chair
Bennie Calloway	Commissioner
Daniel Cowan	Commissioner
John Mooney	Commissioner
Michael Dinnerman	County Manager
Donna R. Prather	County Clerk

Chairman Steve Taylor called the meeting to order and gave the invocation.

Vice-Chair Hope Harmon a motion to enter the Public Hearing. Commissioner Daniel Cowan seconded the motion; which passed with Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Commissioner John Mooney, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Public Hearing/Proposed Millage Rate

County Manager Michael Dinnerman explained how the millage rate was calculated.

There were no public comments.

Commissioner Bennie Calloway made a motion to close the Public Hearing and return to the Special Called Meeting. Vice-Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner Bennie Calloway, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner John Mooney, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

Millage Rate Resolution

Commissioner John Mooney made a motion to accept the School Board millage rate at 15.977%, to adopt the final millage rate for Ben Hill County at 14.687% for unincorporated and incorporated, approve the Tax Levy Resolution, and to authorize the Chairman to sign all documents. Vice- Chair Hope Harmon seconded the motion; which passed with Commissioner John Mooney, Vice-Chair Hope Harmon, Commissioner Daniel Cowan, Commissioner Bennie Calloway, and Chairman Steve Taylor all voting for the motion.

The meeting was adjourned.

_Steve Taylor, Chairman

_____Donna R. Prather, County Clerk